Christmas In July? Now,I Get It!

20140706-072051-26451720.jpg

I used to wonder why all the hoopla about Christmas In July? It has become quite a recognizable, even looked forward to occurance! QVC has a whole weekend devoted to previewing their Christmas inventory. Catalog distributors have also jumped on this bandwagon. To further perpetuate this consumer based plug, the Hallmark Channel is televising Christmas movies right now! Hobby Lobby is already displaying many Christmas goods.

I have come to the conclusion that this is successful because most of us, me included, love Christmas! We love whatever Christmas represents to us. We are yearning for that feeling of goodwill year round. Christmas reminds us to be kind to each other and to care about the other guy. It’s a feeling of anticipation and satisfaction with our lives that we crave. So essentially this consumer driven need to feel good propels this campaign to sell Christmas stuff in July. No judgement if you happen to enjoy this. Truth be told, I have fun with it too! I like the idea of getting ready for the holidays. It reminds me to plan ahead. I have so many people in my family that it behooves me to start shopping early and I do!

I love all of the holidays. If you know me, than you know that I decorate my house for all of the major holidays including Chinese New Year! I am a big “Seasons” person. I enjoy acknowledging each for it’s unique, distinct, ambience inducing perspective in my home! Isn’t that what we hope to create when we decorate our homes? If you are practical and organized you also understand the financial advantages to pre- planning Christmas. Decor and gifts can be separate priorties! So ok, I get it! Christmas in July, it works…
On that note, I’ll leave you with my notes …http://youtu.be/qJsIXhSCtQM
Surely I can capitalize on this too lol? Have a great day!
I have been watching QVC ‘s Christmas In July campaign this weekend. They do a terrific job of moving inventory. I have to admit they do a wonderful job of displaying and presenting their goods!

Author: tynajoymetzner

I've been a stay at home Mom for many years...Have earned a PhD in life experience. My oldest is 30 and my youngest is 13. On a quest to see all that I can be now. I am a musician, singer/ songwriter. In the process of trying to become marketable. Would love to make money doing what I love! I love to do many domestic things also. Nothing I do seems to be profitable. Guess I am at a point in life that I would like to be compensated . My whole life I have given freely. Now, show me my money making niche. Still in the process of figuring that out.

Leave a Reply

