I’m Going To Morro Tomorrow, I’m Going To Morro Bay…

Spring break ! School is out for a week. We are going to California. I don’t think we are going to go as far north as my hometown of Morro Bay. To do that is a 12 hour drive from Phoenix… We have discussed either San Diego or Huntington Beach. The point, (as always) when going to CA. is to see the great Pacific ocean. Spending 38 years on the central coast I miss the ocean! I always took it for granted when I lived there. I really miss the  soft ocean air! I don’t miss the gloom and doom of fog in the summer. The scenery is so beautiful there though. These are just a few pics that I took with my nothing special cell phone.

 

 

Morro Bay/ Los Osos, is tucked away. A quiet, safe haven halfway between Los Angeles and San Francisco. This beautiful area is rather eccentric and eclectic. You can have a beautiful home next to a dumpy home. No H.O.A.’s.

Nothing much ever changes much here. The scenery is just post card beautiful. It is just a quaint little place. Hard to say how people make a living. Not much in the way of gainful employment. The whole area is pretty laid back. Peaceful, low stress and not a whole lot of competition. All four of my daughters were born in San Luis Obispo county.

Now that I have lived in Phoenix for nearly 12 years, I can’t imagine living there again. When I visit the central coast now I realize just how isolated we were. Rather way out in the boonies! It’s amazing how far out we really were. Before we left the area, I bought a house in Paso Robles. We lived there for two years. Although not on the coast it was also beautiful. Wine country and far enough away from the coast to escape the fog. I laugh because we thought it was too hot in the summer there. Lol, you don’t know hot till you live in Phoenix omg…

 was ok with leaving the coast because I had lost so many special people in my life. Aunts, Uncles and then my Mom passed away there. I was tired of the constant reminder of missing them. Lots of landmarks, or driving by their homes would be a contant reminder of loss. When my Mom died peacefully in our home, that was it. I just didn’t want to be reminded any more. I didn’t want to experience that longing to see her again. I took care of my Mom for years. She died of lung cancer but was ill for many, many years. We lived together for the last 5 years of her life. We had an upstairs apt for her. I bought the house so that she could have her own space.

Mom had been in the hospital with what we thought was pneumonia. When we found out she had cancer I set up hospice care at home so she could die at home. She came home via ambulance.  I remember her looking at the daffodils and remarking on how beautiful they were as they were bringing her in the door. I had a chance to talk with her and be with her for that day. She passed away the very next day. Leaving the way she would have wanted to… Her family around and her loyal BFF kitty cat by her side. Needless to say, after that I was finished with the memories of the central coast. I’m happy to say that when I visit I’m always glad to. My memories are nice. It’s always good to revisit where you came from to remind you of who you were and how far you have come!

My Mom died 13 years ago this month. I still miss her so much!  She was the closest person to me on the planet. I’m grateful for the relationship we had. It wasn’t always easy, we had our times…she understood me better than anyone! She always loved my savant and encouraged me to use  and enjoy it!

* My fan club died when she did! Awwwww!

 

 

 

 

Author: tynajoymetzner

I've been a stay at home Mom for many years...Have earned a PhD in life experience. My oldest is 30 and my youngest is 13. On a quest to see all that I can be now. I am a musician, singer/ songwriter. In the process of trying to become marketable. Would love to make money doing what I love! I love to do many domestic things also. Nothing I do seems to be profitable. Guess I am at a point in life that I would like to be compensated . My whole life I have given freely. Now, show me my money making niche. Still in the process of figuring that out.

Leave a Reply

