Two Of Us Cover

Two Of Us is written by Roger Hodgson. This is my cover of the song. I used a guitar voice on my keyboard in lew of a piano voice. I did the guitar/ piano track on AudioCopy. I played the saxophone solo with my keyboard and lastly, the vocals track. Oh my gosh this was fun to do!!! I tried… it is what it is lol. 

Here is the link to my cover.

I love Roger’s original. It is the most beautiful song! Plenty of unique and interesting chords! I play by ear and really had to listen to be able to discern the chords. I’m sure I missed a few of them but the jist and framework of the song is there. I love being able to get close when covering songs. If you are familiar with my blog posts than you know that I have a real appreciation for the musical talents of Roger Hodgson and Rick Davies. Two very different and unique songwriting styles and sounds! Love them each so much. I believe that Roger Hodgson actually writes large. He composes in full orchestra sound. I believe that Rick Davies songs are a little less grandeous and are played pretty straightforward. I love both styles of these incredibly talented guys.

I cover a few songs of each songwriter… I bring a female perspective to these very male vocals. Lol I haven’t figured out if my female perspective of these songs is appreciated… I do get the most fan comments from my Rick Davies covers on my YouTube Channel. 

Here are a few of my Rick Davies Covers…

This remains my most viewed YouTube cover of all

Now my Roger Hodgson covers are only on my SoundCloud Channel…

Here are a link to my Roger Hodgson Covers-

I have studied these Supertramp songs for many years and I have decided that I feel more connected to them having covered them. A big huge fan of each and every song they ever did. I haven’t researched them as people, only their songs. I have no keen trivia or mind blowing gossip to tell. I have just chosen to know the music from their souls, intimately…

So far I’ve not heard any kind of feedback from either songwriter personally. I did hear that people like me anger and frustrate Roger’s manager… People like me, (are huge fans) who, want to share in the love for the music by playing it! That’s all! What’s the harm in that?! Who, exactly am I hurting? 

I haven’t heard anything at all about ruffling the feathers of Rick Davies “camp”. Not one of my Rick Davies covers have ever been taken down on my YouTube channel. Notice, you won’t find a Roger Hodgson cover on my YouTube channel… just a fact I’ve had to learn the hard way. This particular artist is very touchy about use of his music. I have yet to encounter any one else having an issue with my covers…

Anyway, I was so taken by this beautiful original I just had to learn to play it!  I’ll leave today’s post with my new cover friend,

Author: tynajoymetzner

I've been a stay at home Mom for many years...Have earned a PhD in life experience. My oldest is 30 and my youngest is 13. On a quest to see all that I can be now. I am a musician, singer/ songwriter. In the process of trying to become marketable. Would love to make money doing what I love! I love to do many domestic things also. Nothing I do seems to be profitable. Guess I am at a point in life that I would like to be compensated . My whole life I have given freely. Now, show me my money making niche. Still in the process of figuring that out.

Leave a Reply

