Casual Conversations Are Iconically Familiar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ih8ALyC6uQM

This is a song I believe that most people can relate to at some point in their lives. We have all been in a relationship where we don’t feel heard and appreciated. I had no idea that this song was about the breakdown of the musical partnership between Roger Hodgson and Rick Davies. To me it seems to speak of a rotten marriage. That would be my interpretation! I have played this song for years. I’m a big fan of Rick Davies. His voice is so unique and genuine. Not to mention his musical style and phrasing. Oh my goodness, I love his songs! I see that Supertramp is touring this year! Oh how I wish that they would play here in Phoenix, AZ! I had the opportunity last year to see Roger Hodgson here Phoenix. I’m sad that these two great songwriters split! Even though they split years ago it still appears to be such a heated dissolution! I have been following both Facebook fan websites and the fans are so vicious! The loyal Roger Hodgson fans post comments full of angst on the “Supertramp” fan page! So much anger and resentment!

This is really sad. Both songwriters have a tremendous following! They tour the world and are loved and appreciated in every country. I wish they would just come together and resolve their differences. They are both getting up there in age and now would be a good time to hash it out and resolve whatever the creative difference issues are! The fans would go crazy to see them both together again! They would be better together than apart! Just like most marriages that end in divorce.

That being said, I remain a tremendous fan of both singer/ songwriters. Finding both to be beyond talented and vastly creative! Both are my idols! Both are unique in music and lyrical style. I imagine my own personal musical style to be more like Rick Davies. His voice is much more within my register. I never try to sing Roger Hodgson songs as I would embarrass myself lol. I do however cover/ play three of Roger’s songs. If I ever had the opportunity to, I would love to meet Rick Davies! I think we have similar views and ideas about music!

I adore your music Rick Davies! I bet you are a lovely man. I have a real appreciation for the sentiment of this song! I live it… Oh and by the way, it would be a lifelong dream to meet you! In my dreams…

 

 

 

 

 

Here is my SoundCloud cover track

Casual Conversations written by Rick Davies cover by Tyna J. Metzner

Author: tynajoymetzner

I've been a stay at home Mom for many years... I feel that I’ve earned a PhD in life experience! My oldest is 35 and my youngest is 17. This year, I adopted a Granddaughter who is now 8 years old.I’m on a quest to see all that I can be! I am a musician, singer/ songwriter as well. Please visit and subscribe to my YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWn_VTumL1QLpukYEamtzcg. Look for me on SoundCloud as well! SoundCloud Profile Link-https://soundcloud.com/tyna-j-phipps I would love to make money doing what I love! I enjoy many domestic things as well. I am at a point in life that I would like to be compensated.

Leave a comment