The School Of Hard Knocks Has Been The School For Me


Memorial Day is almost upon us. My birthday is also just around the corner. A reminder of the life clock ticking… Time is fleeting! Leave your mark upon this earth!  I’m still trying to do this is my own small way. Yesterday, I re-recorded a few songs for my SoundCloud channel. I posted them here yesterday. We have underground electrical construction going on here. Fiber Optic cables and whatever else… SRP and cable company trucks everywhere. I was frustrated that while I was recording, I would get the sound of drilling in my amplifier. I tried to just record around it. It was highly annoying. I found myself saying, “Go to lunch guys”! If you listen closely, you can hear the drilling that I’m speaking of lol. Construction here has been going on for a few months now! Noisy, dusty and just plain a pain to deal with.

Here is is Graduation time and I got to thinking… I thought since nobody really views my SoundCloud channel anyway, I should just have some fun with it. I decided to try a new genre for me, Spoken Word. I have written several pieces, poems I suppose. Don’t know if I will actually post them as they are and sound so angry! I suppose anger motivates my writing lol. This however is not angry! I wrote it just for fun! Anyway, here is my SoundCloud upload of my poem.

Where’s My PhD (The School Of Hard Knocks)
I get the biggest kick out of watching them succeed! This you will always have my dears the beginning of your dream. Life’s triumphs are but far and few between- and all that is coming, of yet, remains to be seen.
What I am wondering is where’s my PhD ? A life of hard knocks has been the life for me.. I’ve earned it and I’d like to know which University, hands out diplomas ,to people just like me? Life experience and plenty of hard places…I found my way out of many tight spaces. In retrospect I can see, the wisdom in all thats come to be but I still want that PhD!
That frame-able reminder of all that I’ve been through. Knowing it’s been worth something and that others see it to. The work it’s been to get here and the sense of pride I feel. It might sound silly to you, but to me it’s a big deal! I want that piece of paper that acknowledgement to me, a handshake and a nod from alumni and faculty… The accomplishment that comes after all the hard works done…I want my second act now, it’s time to have some fun!
Be a mover and a shaker and really kick some ass but do it with dignity and hopefully with class. Be a world beater but be kind to those you meet, be the best that you can be and don’t feel you have to compete. For the world has plenty of room for those with PhD’s in life experience, this I tell myself when I’m tired and delirious.
For those who have taken care of others and been the overseers, I want to impart kudos to you for you really are great leaders! For teaching the world that it’s ok to help others accomplish a goal. Makes you instrumental in the world,as a whole! For it takes a village as one wise woman proclaimed. You can take that knowledge and hopefully no shame, that you have helped the greater good and probably overcame- obstacles in abundance, frustration and some blame.
So this I have to say, Congratulations on earning this degree! The School Of Hard Knocks acknowledges your hard work and tenacity! I give to you this honorary degree of PhD in Applied Life Science of Hard Knocks and Misery. Now go out there and make this ole world a better place to be! The possibilities are endless for those with this degree.
Philosophers, life coaches and writers all take heed, their are no greater teachers than our lives that we all must lead. The education comes to us all in different ways, the hows and whys differ but the result is all the same. Whatever our misfortune, our plight to overcome, we look upon our history, this is what we draw from. We find a way to make “it” work whatever “It”, may be and this is how we navigate life’s harsh adversity.
So when you gaze upon my plaque and question my credentials, I’ll have you look into my soul and show you my life’s hurdles. That got me to this place of honor that I hold today . This I will always look upon, cherish and display! For I have knowledge and wisdom that only life can teach. I feel accomplished and confident that I have truly reached, a level worthy of excepting this prestigious PhD, and I’m so glad Ive had the chance to learn all that I can be! Now here’s to fun and happiness for all eternity! Learnings done and funs begun and maybe I will see, the journey that I took, didn’t come from a book…It came from me!

* This is just thoughts that came to me one lazy Sunday morning while I was drinking my coffee. I commend all of you have taken your time and great effort to achieve true education and a degree!

 

Author: tynajoymetzner

I've been a stay at home Mom for many years... I feel that I’ve earned a PhD in life experience! My oldest is 35 and my youngest is 17. This year, I adopted a Granddaughter who is now 8 years old.I’m on a quest to see all that I can be! I am a musician, singer/ songwriter as well. Please visit and subscribe to my YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWn_VTumL1QLpukYEamtzcg. Look for me on SoundCloud as well! SoundCloud Profile Link-https://soundcloud.com/tyna-j-phipps I would love to make money doing what I love! I enjoy many domestic things as well. I am at a point in life that I would like to be compensated.

Leave a comment