Losing George Michael Was A Christmas Sadness 2016 Has Been A Year Of Great Losses

This probably looks like nearly everyone’s Christmas celebration. I have been so busy this week. Cooking, cleaning up and plenty of dishes… I have had everyone home this week. 

The death of George Michael rocked my world and put me in a Christmas funk. I have been so sad about the passing of this brilliant songwriter! When you cover a song you feel a real sense of intimacy with that song. The way that I play, by ear makes learning a song a different kind of experience. Sometimes they come together easily, sometimes certain chords are harder to discern. When it all comes together it’s gratifying and sometimes exhilarating!

I have covered Praying For Time, a lot in the past few years. The lyrics fit so well with my life experience at the time. I really felt as if I had a good idea what George Michael had been feeling when he wrote it. The more I play this song, the more I appreciate the genius songwriter that he was. Definitely a person I wish I had the privilege to know. An amazing talent and a humanitarian too. What a loss! So very sad at losing this icon. What a year of losses. Can’t wait to usher 2016 out! 

If you are a follower on my YouTube Channel you will find these “Praying For Time”covers.

Also you will find these on my SoundCloud channel…

As you can see, this is a song so near and dear to my heart! He had a whole host of hits and lesser known songs. He was an artist that would create a whole body of work in his albums/CDs. I never listened to just a few songs, it was the whole album or CD in it’s entirety. I loved his soulful, heartfelt music! 

I haven’t shared my funk, I am still trying to make sure everyone has a nice  holiday vacation.  My thoughts and moments alone are filled with great sadness and loss. Private tears in my bathtub have been my release…Awww George! Gives new life to the old ad …”Calgon, take me away!” 

We have another few days left of vacation time. New Years Eve teenage party is on the agenda… 2016 looks better in the rear view mirror! 

Author: tynajoymetzner

I've been a stay at home Mom for many years... I feel that I’ve earned a PhD in life experience! My oldest is 35 and my youngest is 17. This year, I adopted a Granddaughter who is now 8 years old.I’m on a quest to see all that I can be! I am a musician, singer/ songwriter as well. Please visit and subscribe to my YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWn_VTumL1QLpukYEamtzcg. Look for me on SoundCloud as well! SoundCloud Profile Link-https://soundcloud.com/tyna-j-phipps I would love to make money doing what I love! I enjoy many domestic things as well. I am at a point in life that I would like to be compensated.

Leave a comment